HOME‎ > ‎About Us‎ > ‎

Members of the Commission

Under the 2005 Insurance Act, The Commission shall consist of a maximum of seven members, including The Superintendent of Insurance, the Deputy Superintendent of Insurance and three to five other members, comprised of persons with a wide experience in the areas of insurance, finance, commerce, law or administration; and are appointed by the Governor-General after consultation with the Minister of Finance.

Michele Fields, Superintendent, is the Chief Executive Officer of the Commission and is charged with the day to day management and operation of the office. She also serves as Chairman of the meetings of the Commission.

The Commissioners meet at least once per month, and are responsible for the overall governance of the Office of the Commission and for the establishment of related policies.

Mrs. Michele Fields

Superintendent of the Commission

Mrs. Fields was educated in The Bahamas and the UK earning a BA Honours in Accounting at the University of Exeter before qualifying as a Chartered Accountant with KPMG in London, England. She returned to Nassau in 1982 to continue her career in the accounting field and has had extensive experience in the insurance industry. She has served as Deputy President of the Bahamas Red Cross Society and is a Charter Member of The Nassau Chapter of The Links, Inc. and Chance Bahamas.

Mr. Algernon Cargill


Algernon Cargill holds an MBA degree with a specialization in International Business (Distinction) from the University of Miami, Coral Gables, Florida.  He has extensive experience in the Banking and Finance Industry, having served as the General Manager, Branch Banking of CIBC Bahamas Ltd and CIBC First Caribbean Ltd, in addition to senior roles as Country Chair and Legal Representative for Chevron Puerto Rico LLC, as well as  Director and CEO of the National Insurance Board. He has served as a director of Cable Bahamas Ltd, Commonwealth Brewery Ltd, and The Bank of The Bahamas Ltd.

Mr. Cargill currently serves as an Adjunct Faculty member in the Banking, Economics and Finance department of the School of Business, Hospitality and Tourism studies at the University of The Bahamas, as well as the Bahamas Institute of Financial Services, and previously at the University of the West Indies campuses in Trinidad, Barbados and Jamaica, and the Sir Arthur Lewis Community College in St. Lucia. 

Mr. Cargill serves as the President of The Bahamas Aquatics Federation and is an elected member on the FINA Bureau for Aquatic Sports for a 4 year term, and previously served as a Vice-President of the Bahamas Olympic Committee.


Mrs. J. Lisa Bostwick-Dean


Janet L. R. Bostwick-Dean is an attorney with more than 20 years of experience.  She is a member of the Honourable Society of Gray’s Inn, and was called to the external Bar of England and Wales and The Bahamas Bar in 1996.  She is a graduate of McGill University and Buckingham University.

Mrs. Bostwick-Dean is the managing partner of the family’s law firm Messrs. Bostwick and Bostwick, where she is also the firm’s Money Laundering and Reporting Officer.

Mrs. Bostwick-Dean is a commercial lawyer who specializes in civil litigation and has appeared and presented arguments at all levels of our judicial system - the Magistrates’ Courts, the Industrial Tribunal, the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and the Privy Council.

She also served as a member of the Board of the Bahamas Development Bank from 2007 to 2012.    


Ms. Trevania Clarke


Ms. Trevania Clarke was educated in The Bahamas and the U.S.A., earning a B.A in Finance and Human Resources at Temple University.   She returned to Nassau in 2006 to continue her career in Finance and Human Resources, working at McKinney, Bancroft & Hughes and AML Foods limited, combined for 10 years, as an Accounting Officer. In 2015, she became an entrepreneur and opened a local restaurant.  Ms. Clarke provides administrative assistance to small businesses.    


Mr. Elijah Knowles


Mr. Elijah A. Knowles was educated in The Bahamas and the United States of American, earning a B.A. Cum Laude in Accounting and Computers in Business at St. Leo College (now University), St. Leo, Florida, before qualifying as a Certified Public Accountant with Price Waterhouse in Nassau.  He began his accountanting career in 1987, and has extensive experience in the industry, having worked in senior management positions at a major life insurance company for over 10 years.  He also worked for 5 years as the Financial Controller of the Nassau Guardian.

Mr. Knowles has been in private practice for the past 14 years, serving mainly small businesses.   He has served in many capacities at St. George’s Anglican Church and St. Anne’s School over the years, particularly as a PTA and School Board Executive for 10 years, in the capacity of Treasurer and President.  Mr. Knowles is a member of The Bahamas Institute of Chartered Accountants.  He is married and has two children.